Highbrowed

Audrey Hepburn

Audrey Hepburn

I’m a little obsessed with eyebrows. So I was delighted to see brows take center stage in reports on upcoming fashion and beauty trends. Focusing on extreme brow looks, the new trend for spring is either The Strong Brow or what I call The Disappeared Brow. The latter look basically “disappears” the brow by bleaching it. In general, I’m not a fan of this look since, clearly, I’m into brows! Plus, if you’ve been reading for awhile you know that the “less is more” philosophy is against my religion. More is more, always!

Well, almost always. I’ll admit that a thin brow does have a sort of retro glamour. No one achieved this “tweezed-within-an-inch-of-its-life” look better than my Femme Icon, Greta Garbo. But I think most of us look better with a more strongly defined brow. While The Strong Brow is certainly welcome in my book, let me offer this cautionary observation, girls: there’s a fine line (pun intended) between a bold, thick brow and a brow disaster.

I like a brow to frame the face and draw attention to the eyes without being *the* focal point of the face. Audrey Hepburn is a great example of how to achieve this balance in a strong brow look. It’s fun to experiment, but the bottom line is that you have to work with the natural shape of your brow and face to find a style that works for you.

To help you on your higbrow adventures, I’ve posted pics of actresses with some of my fave brow looks. Kate Winslet and Keira Knightley both pull off The Strong Brow very well, I think. For guidelines and tips on how to do your own brows, see the diagram below and this article How To Shape Your Eyebrows.

2 Responses

  1. I must confess that I too love the brow, a rather overlooked aspect of one’s beauty.

    BTW-This blog has really taken off! Congrats!

    Thanks comoprozac. If things don’t go our way on Nov. 4, I may be asking you for a super-sized order of prozac! Love to R & L. xo Sf

  2. I adore a women who knows how to style a good brow, it’s essential to making the face balanced, and you are right, SF, more (to a point) is better than less ever will be!

    Oh, and as to the gentile lace glove being thrown at my feet, even if was done with fluttering eyelashes brushed to perfection, I accept. Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but someday soon, Scarlet, that I promise. 🙂

    Rhett

    If I must wait, Rhett, where shall I go? What shall I do? As God is my witness, I’m going to live through this and when it’s all over, I’ll never sit around in this ridiculous dress waiting for you to post again! -Sincerely, despite my dreadful politics, Scarlet
    PS I’m a lesbian. As for that glove I threw down, it was elbow-length black leather.

    xo SF

Leave a Reply

