Femmes and Flamers Welcome!

What happens when you’re Kate Brown, Oregon’s newly elected Secretary of State and the highest-ranked out bisexual elected official in the United States?  Apparently, Portland’s Just Out, who supported and endorsed you, publishes an article before the election telling you to butch up your look!  Who knew anyone would so mourn the passing of one elected official’s dykey haircut? 

Whether it’s coming from straights or queers, or whether it focuses on Hilary Clinton or Kate Brown, it’s sexist when a woman is told that in order to be a better leader, she needs “better” hair.  Back in the 90s Hilary’s look wasn’t “soft” enough to be first ladyish (excuse me while I throw up), and now Brown’s look isn’t butch enough for some Oregon homos.

Since Brown now has a male partner (scandalous behavior for a bisexual, isn’t it?!), heterosexual privilege is probably the subtext that’s making these queers get their panties in a knot over their new Secretary of State’s hairstyle.  But notice how they displace their anxieties onto femininity, which they represent as the emblem of heteroprivilege?  Certainly, the idea that Brown is betraying the movement by failing to “read” as sufficiently Sapphic reflects longstanding stereotypes that femmes–much like bisexuals–aren’t “real” lesbians/queers. 

At the same time, I think what has happened in Oregon also points to a more pervasive devaluing of femininity.   In her post about this issue, Aviva of Bi-Furious! says, 

I’m offended by this as a bisexual and as a femme. I’ve spent enough time thinking I’m not good enough or queer enough because I don’t have the right haircut, I’m over hearing other people given grief over it. Come to think of it, I’m outraged as a woman as well; I can’t imagine a gay man being told to be a bit more nelly to get community support, and I think that’s all about a demonization of femininity and failure to take it seriously.

Aviva is right.  No queers would write editorials protesting that their gay male elected official needs to be more of a femme.  (e.g. He’s done great work fighting for our civil rights but, sister, he’s just not flaming enough!)  This wouldn’t happen at least in part because femininity is still far too often disparaged by mainstream (read:  white) upwardly mobile gays.  When’s the last time you saw a queen at the helm of some national LGBT rights organization? 

For queer women like Brown, I suspect it’s a catch-22.  If you’re too femme and bi, then gays write editorials about you telling you that you aren’t butch enough to be read as “openly” queer.  But I bet that if Brown were perceived as being “too” butch, these same guys would be writing editorials saying, Would a little lipstick kill her?  

What needs to change is not Kate Brown’s hair.  It’s the narrow minds of those in our communities who expect people to conform to stereotypes in the name of “visibility.”

3 Responses

  1. Definitely. I too read about the new Oregon Secretary of State, did you read that a town in Oregon also has the first (openly) trans mayor?! I think that’s crazy good!

    And yeah, at the being “properly visible”…I’m over it, as of right now. And I really like the BiFurious blog, I found it a few months ago in a search and forgot it was in my bookmarks until now!

  2. I’m guessing we’re not allowed to include good ol’ Gavin and his greasy mop in this conversation, are we?

    DANG.

    That said, both my tomboy and I have fantastic, shiny hair. If we became elected officials and anyone criticized our tresses, we’d just roll our eyes and say, “Pfft, you’re so jealous. Next!” and have a good laugh. Maybe finger-point a little.

    This is why we are not elected officials.

    True, but you two have way more than fantastic hair going for you– as evidenced by your beautiful wedding pics. I left you a congratulatory comment over on your blog. I’m still crying! xo -SF

  3. the idea that Brown is betraying the movement by failing to “read” as sufficiently Sapphic reflects longstanding stereotypes that femmes–much like bisexuals–aren’t “real” lesbians/queers.

    I think you’ve nailed it exactly here. Also, Since Brown now has a male partner (scandalous behavior for a bisexual, isn’t it?!) made me so happy.

Leave a Reply

