Zen and Beauty

jean20harlow203

Beauty takes time.  However,  incorporating a beauty regime into your everyday schedule is a huge time saver as well as a great way to ensure that you stick with your regime.  Before long you’ll be looking as luminous as Jean Harlow does in this photo!  And–as I discovered today–with luminosity comes serenity.

I think femmes instictively appreciate the zen of beauty.  For example, this morning I woke up at 6 AM and exercised, gave myself a facial (graded papers while the mask was on), did my nails (read and did course prep while my nails were drying), showered, dressed, and did my hair and makeup. 

The amazing thing is that I managed to do this all without rushing, which is highly unusual for me in the mornings.  I have to admit, it was rather glorious.  I arrived at my morning class feeling relaxed, energized and polished.  Perhaps serenity is truly the higher goal of beauty.  Who knew?

Leave a Reply

