The Cointreau Teese

dita-01

I’m fiercely loyal in love and cocktails. 

OK, that’s a lie.  But don’t fret, my pretties.  My beloved Van has nothing to worry about; my indiscretions are strictly mixological. 

Since Manhattans are more of a fall/winter cocktail, when the weather warms up I always start thinking about new potions to add to my usual summer cocktail fare of gimlets and margaritas.  This year, I’ve been seduced by The Cointreau Teese (recipe below), a violet cocktail created by Cointreau in honor of Dita Von Teese.   It looks great in the hand when my nails are polished with OPI’s Overexposed in South Beach, which is my favorite purple for spring.  Enjoy–it’s sublimefemmeness in a glass!  😉

cointreau-dita-von-teese1 The Cointreau Teese

1 ½ oz. Cointreau
¾ oz. apple juice
½ oz. Monin violet syrup
½ oz. fresh lemon juice

Question of the day:  What’s your drink/cocktail du jour?

UPDATE 7.7.09:  Beware Darlings!  I must confess that this cocktail is much better in theory than practice.  The lavender color pictured here (which is the whole point of the cocktail for me) is extremely difficult to achieve, and I was never able to do so without making the drink excessively sweet.  This can’t be blamed on my poor bartending skills since a reader, Babs, just left a comment describing how she encountered the same problem.  I therefore officially retract my recommendation for the Cointreau Teese.  “Sublimefemmeness in a glass” it ain’t.  

19 Responses

  1. ohhh that’s sooo pretty!!!! I’m a vodka tonic girl all the way (with extra limes please) 🙂

    p.s. thx for the comment on my Femmethology post. It made my day

    *cheers*

    ZOMG Laura I’m a vodka-tonic-with-extra-limes girl too!! Hope you’re having a good weekend! xo SF

  2. purple is good always & foreverrrr

  3. Seriously, just when are you comin’ for a visit? Because I feel strongly that I need this now, and it’s just sort of criminal to partake without you.

    Such as.

    I managed to stay in my kimono lounging and boozing until about 8PM, when I finally put a little slip of a dress on instead (the boozing still hasn’t ceased, of course).

    It’s like we were BORN for each other.

    Van & M will understand.

    I’m packing up my Monin violet syrup and will be right over! Truth is, I’ve been smitten with you from the first moment I serendipitously stumbled upon your blog. 😉 xo SF

  4. as you well know, i’m an old-fashioned girl (take that how you may), but i must agree that such bourbon-heavy drinks are a bit heavy for the springtime.

    generally, my favorite hot-weather drinks are a good mojito or margarita (rocks, please!) – and i intend remedy my having never had a mint julep very soon!

    springtime, though, calls for something a bit more like fruit juices. a coworker brought me some cointreau for our housewarming party this weekend – i am still in awe of how good it is. so, naturally, this drink looks like a winner to me.

  5. Oooo! I must try this violet syrup! I love violets–so sweet and pretty.

  6. Gin & tonic every time. Or Pimm’s & lemonade in the summer, garnished with stawberries, apple, mint leaves, lemon and orange. I’m a bit English like that.

    Love the blog, Sublimefemme.

    Thx, Roxy, and welcome! For those of us who can’t get across the pond to try your delicious Pimms & lemonade, would you be so kind to post the recipe? -SF

  7. I had a lovely Lynchburg Lemonade the other day, that’s a lovely summery drink!

  8. 50 ml or 1.7 oz Pimm’s No.1
    Lemonade
    Orange
    Strawberries
    Cucumber
    Apples
    Lemon
    Fresh mint
    Ice

    Looks good in a jug on a summer picnic table. Make up with 1 part Pimm’s & 3 parts lemonade.

    Roxy

    Thanks for posting this, Roxy! With such excellent ingredients I’m sure this also works as a health tonic, right? 😉 SF

  9. I have been plotting how to seduce LadyBrett with my mixological skills….so I remembered this one Mojito I used to make…

    2 parts Sake (Or Rum, or Pisco)
    1 part Fizz, tonics my choice
    1/2 part yuzu juice (or meyer lemon simple syrup)
    1 sugar cube (omit if using that syrup)
    2 Thai Basil Leaves
    1 Mint Leaf

    I think you know what to do with these ingredients, or just invite me over and I’ll make it for you ;p

  10. And now I will run away with embarassment and hide

  11. oh, my dear grrlchef, that sounds like an excellent seduction! now i just have to find myself some thai basil – perhaps there will be some at the farmer’s market (my own garden is rather limited at the moment) – and i’m afraid yuzu juice just won’t be an option around here.

    my, it’s terribly flattering to be plotted about! 😉

    • How could you not, you have fabulous taste in cocktails (well all the ladies here do), music, but if I ever did mix up a drink named after you it would indeed include Bourbon….possibly Buffalo Trace. Go with the meyer lemons I prefer them anyways….

  12. Oh and SF….
    I made the most marvelous bitters for your manhattan the other day. I can leave you the recipe to post if you would like?

    You are the quintessential bar chef, clearly. I had no idea that anyone actually made their own bitters, but yes please do post. It’s lovely to see you and Lady B have hit it off. Not surprising since you’re both so charming 😉 xo SF

  13. I’m also a fan of the vodka tonic (it’s my go-to), but sometimes I want just a splash of flavor. This is one of my favorites:

    Citronella Cooler
    2 oz. Lemonade
    1 oz. Citrus Vodka
    1 oz. Cranberry Juice
    dash(es) Lime Juice

    Of course, I tend to pour a little heavier on the vodka than on the lemonade.

    There is also a restaurant here in town that makes an amazing guava mojito. I have them make mine short, packed with ice.

    Heavier on the vodka is always better 😉 Thx for sharing, G xo SF

  14. Ok, the picture looks divine. I found the violet syrup on Amazon, and ordered it. The cocktail tastes divine too……. BUT! I didn’t get the lovely lavender shade shown in the photo. I suppose since this was a promo shot from Cointreau, it was enhanced in some way, but I really expected it to look like this. The gold color of the apple juice, along with the sort of pale yellow of the lemon, mixed with the dark purple syrup makes more of a pale GRAYISH lavender color. So it just didn’t look as pretty, which was disappointing, but tasted very good. If you add more of the syrup, it helps w/the color, but also makes it sweeter. Regardless, thanks much for giving us a heads up on the recipe – I always like to try new cocktails!

  15. I’m *so sorry* for the cocktail catastrophe, Babs! I had the same exact thing happen to me with the color. I’m very disappointed in Cointreau for promoting this recipe. Because of your feedback, I’ve updated my post to show that I no longer recommend the drink. Frankly, I’m looking for other things to do with my Monin violet syrup. Let me know if you have any recommendations! Here are a few recipes I’ve found online:

    Violet Champagne Cocktail

    1/4 oz. Monin Blackberry Syrup
    1/4 oz Monin Violet Syrup
    7 oz Champagne
    Pour syrups into champagne flute. Slowly add the champagne.

    Violet Martini

    1 3/4 oz Vodka
    1/2 oz. Violet Syrup

    Combine in an ice filled shaker; shake and strain into a chilled martini glass. Garnish with a violet.

    Iced Violet Tea

    1/4 oz Violet Syrup
    8 oz brewed tea and ice

    Combine and garnish with mint leaves.

  16. Girls, you can just cheat! as I am sure they did. Add one drop red and one drop blue food coloring and your cocktail will be intensely purple ;°)

  17. i find it lame to update your post and say i dont recommend this drink…if it tastes great what does it matter? its called advertising…models model makeup doesnt mean you’ll have their photoshopped skin… helloooo!

Leave a Reply

