Irresistible Summer Beauty

Irresistible2

The eternal principles of summer are as follows:  barbeque, bright colors, and light makeup.   For me, this translates into an irresistible urge for baby back ribs, a penchant for splashly hues, and my surrender to the siren call of the fashionably nude look–or my version of it, which is beachy and luminous rather than bare.  The nude look basically means I spend twice as much time putting on my makeup to appear as though I’m wearing less of it.  This is the best-kept secret about summer beauty, my lovelies; effortless glamour and cool allure are seldom achieved without…well…effort.  

Sublimefemme’s Top Ten Summer Beauty Faves:

1. Famous Dave’s Moisture Tan.  No, it’s not a barbeque sauce; it’s the holy grail of self-tanners!  It’s better than pricey department store sunless tanners plus it doesn’t have that awful DHA smell.  Dries fast and the color is very natural-looking.

2. Aveda Smoothing Body Polish.  Great for exfloliating before applying self-tanner.

3.  Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick Compact.   I love these multi-purpose highlighters, which can double as a blush or eyeshadow, too. 

4.  Lorac‘s ProtecTINT SPF 30 Tinted Moisturizer.  The best tinted moisturizer I’ve ever used, ProtecTINT is terrific under foundation or alone. For a cost-effective alternative, try Aveeno Positively Radiant Daily Moisturizer SPF 30.  Both are oil-free.

5. MAC Skinsheen Leg Spray.  I like using this bronzing mousse on my arms too.  It’s instant glamazon.

6. Aveeno Essential Moisture Lip Conditioner SPF 15.  I always have one of these in my purse.

7.  Rusk Sensories Brilliance Grapefruit & Honey Leave-In Color Protector.  Helps protect your hair color from damaging summer rays.

8.  Cargo Bronzer in Medium.  Delivers a beautiful, sunkissed glow.  No kidding.

9.  Neutrogena Fresh Cooling Body Mist Sunblock SPF 45.  I love how fast and easy this is to apply. 

10.  Lancôme Courbe Virtuose Mascara (curl) or Lancôme Hypnose Mascara (volume).  Mascara is a great way to look polished but not overdone during summer, and these smudge-proof, non-clumpy mascaras give you big beautiful lashes with staying power.  However, don’t expect Courbe Virtuose to work solo; it does a great job of augmenting the curl of your lashes but you still need to use an eyelash curler!   

What are your summer beauty secrets? 

3 Responses

  1. I love the Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick’s too, so many different uses and great color payoff. I love multi-purpose products

  2. When summer starts to take hold, I always get the compulsion to paint my toenails in a lovely bright colour.

  3. I haven’t tried the BB Shimmer Bricks, but will take a peek the next time I pop into a Sephora. I definitely second the Cargo, Aveeno, Rusk and Neutrogrena love. Twinsies!

    In addition, I submit:

    1. Lush Ocean Salt Cleanser: Whether it’s 2-3 times per week on your face or an all-over body exfoliate, it’s so good. I did the all-over in a cool shower on a VERY hot afternoon and felt like I’d been at Baker Beach all day long. I like to think it keeps my face glowing and fresh, too. I also spritz on the Eau Roma toner water before I go to bed and to feel nice and refreshed throughout the day.

    2. The lip butter pots from Korres are heaven. I have tried 84,000 products with color and no color, and this is the only one that delivers like a rich, colorless balm and packs serious tint, too. Plus, they’re cheap and not sticky at all. Just soft, soft, soft – you practically forget you’ve got it on until you catch your reflection and go, “Ooh! Pretty lips!”

    3. Ditto on their eyeshadow. I love their silver for a pretty, simple wash for day.

    4. Costco sells 2-packs of Neutrogena’s Healthy Defense SPF 45 Daily Moisturizer, and I’ve found it to be fantastically mattifying, even when I add a drop of jojoba oil to it. A great base under my Neutrogena Healthy Skin Cream Powder makeup, which I apply sparingly with a damp sponge for a dewy finish.

    5. For an everyday drugstore mascara that stays put and helps pop the eyes, I’ve been using Maybelline’s Full & Soft.

    Sharing is caring!

    Hi SBJ, You’re all about the LUSH! l’m not familiar with Korres but will check out their line when I can. And hey I noticed that both LUSH and Korres don’t test on animals–good for you!

    The Shimmer Bricks are gorgeous, really. But alas, you can’t get Bobbi Brown at Sephora. In San Francisco, try Saks, Nordstrom, Neiman’s or Bloomingdale’s. I’m a longstanding BB fan. Van bought me a set of her brushes for xmas over 10 years ago and I’ve only replaced one brush in all that time! Which reminds me, the face blender brush is great for the shimmer brick powder. xo SF

Leave a Reply

