What Is Freedom?

Janis-Joplin

Happy Independence Day, darlings.

I like fireworks as much as the next girl, but I’ve never been the flag-waving type and I don’t do parades unless they have leathermen in them.  (You have to draw the line somewhere.)   So sorry kids, there will be no patriotic pinups of girl-next-door beauties here today.  Instead, I’m commemorating the holiday with a little bohemian flair!  

Although an unlikely 4th of July pinup, Janis Joplin for me embodies an iconoclastic spirit that is truly revolutionary.   As she sang, “freedom is just another word for nothing left to lose.”  It’s a compelling political philosophy if you think about it.  We don’t need to become free, she seems to imply, but rather to remove the obstacles that keep us from realizing the freedom we already possess.  

OK, maybe Janis is not saying that exactly, but I like to think it’s an extension of her message. 😉  What does freedom mean to you?  How are you celebrating it?

2 Responses

  1. hmm, i tend to think that the implication of that line is that perhaps freedom is not what everyone ought to be focussing on. surely there is something more important?

    hmm, i’m certainly not going to the lake (where everyone else in the state will be, eck), and my house is a firework-free zone for the sake of dog. i’ll probably be doing the next most 4th of july thing i can think of: projects around the house, like all the other good husbands 😉

  2. Well, I’m not in the US, but, just wanted to say . . . I tend to fall for voices irrespective of their owners, Janis along with Nina Simone and Marianne Faithful could play on my stereo for the rest of my days and I would be one happy soul! Sexy with grubby edges!

    I know what you mean about falling for voices. You may have noticed I have a penchant for calling people darling. This is an homage to Tallulah Bankhead, whose speaking voice I adore. As for singers, I love Nina Simone too. Thx for stopping by, darling. xo SF

Leave a Reply

