Moment of Pleasure

TomWesselman_PaintingNo38

This is image is a part of  Tom Wesselmann’s Bedroom Painting #38 — the face is so great I thought I’d share it with all of you.  I love that it draws the viewer in with a seductive keyhole glimpse into a private moment of pleasure and yet we don’t get to see the whole scene or even the whole woman. We are left wondering who or what is turning her on–provoking a combination of intimacy and inaccessibility that I find intriguing and sexy.  Hope you do too!

For those of you in the DC area, you can see the painting at the Smithsonian Hirshhorn Museum of Contemporary Art.

One Response

  1. I love this piece. That’s a look I always like to see on a woman’s face.

    Glad someone appreciated it (and that the someone is you). You inspiried me to write a few words to accompany the image, so thank you! xo SF

Leave a Reply

