Fierce Femininity

Happy birthday, Janis.  If you’ve been reading for a while you may already know about my abiding appreciation and affection for Janis Joplin.  If you’re new to SF Unbound, surprise!  Don’t let the pin-up girls fool you, kids.  I’m all about kicking down the white picket fences around femme.  God knows I’m trying! 😉

Lots of us are out there kicking ass, I know, but I still encounter so many small-minded people who persist in seeing femmes as superficial fluff.  Still, that’s all the more reason I think it’s important to unhinge femme from idealized notions of airbrushed beauty while, at the same time, resisting the temptation to attach ourselves to any one idea of what femme is.

I’d love to see femmes of all stripes really empower our inner (or outer) badass, the fierce femme who has no truck with conventional ideas about who she should be or how she should look or act.   So today I’m celebrating all you courageous femmes who take pride in pushing limits, speaking your mind, and living your truth.

Cheers!


8 Responses

  1. Hooray for Janis!!

  2. I totally love this… Was just thinking about this cookie-cutter idea of beauty… And how it should be shot to hell… This is a good way to start the day, thanks 🙂

  3. More femme diversity just means more femme ways of kicking ass. Thanks for leading the charge.

  4. […] about a fierce femme — in this case, Sublime Femme Unbound’s post on Janis Joplin, Fierce Femininity — and it’s like a gut punch. I go, “Holy crap! That’s me!” I have a […]

  5. Janis Joplin could dress however she pleased. It was her attitude that felt stylish and sexy. Her voice as well, obv. 🙂 Something like confidence, or openness.

    • She was actually neither confident nor open really. She was a mess inside and extremely unhappy and unfulfilled and confused but talented and crude and self destructive beyond hope and now of course iconic and immortal. I met her in October ’67 in Los Angeles and I never forgot her.

  6. (runs to put janis on the stereo) 🙂

  7. Came across your blog, just scratched the surface but lovin’ it so far. FYI the woman with Janis is Peggy Caserta. PM if you want more info.

Leave a Reply

