Letting Go

My head is pounding and tears are rolling down my cheeks. “My heart feels like it’s physically breaking,” Van says.  We’re sitting at our dining room table, forcing ourselves to eat.  Van and I have been through a lot of tough times together, but today she has the saddest eyes I’ve ever seen.  Yesterday we put down our wonderful dog Nico, whom we loved dearly for 14 years.  I’m grateful that we had the strength to let Nicki go, but I’m devastated.  It’s hard to even put into words how much her love meant to me, and how empty our house is without her in it.  Rest in peace, sweet girl.

5 Responses

  1. I’m so so so so so beyond sorry for your loss of your beloved Nico. A friend described the death of a beloved dog as an epic loss… sending love to your broken hearts….

  2. Oh, SF. My heart goes out to you and Van. I’ve been through that experience, and it is heart-rending. The loss of a pet is the loss of a family member, period.

    I’m sending both of you my thoughts of peace and comfort. Nico looks like a beautiful, loving canine companion.

  3. Dear SF,
    It is so heartbreaking to lose a wonderful friend. Unfortunately, I’ve been through that too many times. It never gets easier.
    Love and hugs to you both.

  4. oh, dear! i am so, so sorry for you and van – there is not much else to say.

  5. Love, I just saw this and I am so, so sorry for you both. It’s just awful to lose a beloved pet like this, I can’t imagine. Sending y’all hugs, and thinking about what a marvelous time y’all must have had together – 14 years! Even if it’s too short, it’s something else. Love.

Leave a Reply

